Family Storytime: Birthdays

Hi Guys. My family storytime this week just happened to fall on my birthday, so I decided what better then to have a birthday theme storytime!

I always start with the same warm ups:

  • Song – Top of the Morning
    • This is a good song to warm up with because we stretch all the parts we will be using in storytime. Eyes, arms, legs, mouth, nose.
  • Rhyme – Say Hello
    • love this rhyme. Everyone claps along and at the end we say hello how ever I tell them to. Loud, soft, quick, slow.
  • Movement Exercise – Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes
    • We do this three times, faster and FASTER each time.
  • Song – Hokey Pokey
    • Once we were warmed up we did a little hokey pokey to shake things up.

From here we get into our theme.

  • ASL – Happy Birthday
    • I like to teach my my kids a few American Sign Language signs at the start of every storytime. This helps foster communication and with a large deaf community in our town it’s a great tool to have.
  • Flip Chart – Happy Birthday to You
    • This is sung to the tune of twinkle, twinkle little star.

Happy Birthday, it’s your day.51e9i59kinl-_sx456_bo1204203200_

Hope it’s great in every way. 

We are here to celebrate

Because we thing that you are GREAT!

Happy Birthday, it’s your day.

Hope it’s great in every way. 

  • Story w/ Props – It’s My Birthday by Helen Oxenbury
    • My colleague had this one all ready for me. She had all the ingredients, a paper oven and I pulled all of my puppet friends to help me bake the cake.
  • Song – Happy Birthday
    • This is a great dancing birthday song. My colleague gave it to me from a CD of hers but I have no idea what it actually is. It goes something like “Happy Birthday, hap happy birthday. It’s your birthday…”
  • Movement Exercise – Make a Wish

Big Chocolate cake (Make big bowl with your arms)5151ugpa-tl-_sx444_bo1204203200_

Dish of ice cream (Make a cup out of your hands)

Ten candles (Wiggle your fingers)

Make a wish and blow them out! (Blow on each of your hands and make a fist to show the candles are out)

  • Flannel Board – Ten Little CandlesI used candles we already had made and got the words from here. I used the flannel instead of my fingers but it would have worked just as well.
  • Song -Shake my Sillies Out
    • By this time we were ready to get our wiggles out so I played this classic and we shook out all the sillies.
  • Story w/ Magnets – Wibbly Pig Opens His Presents by Inkpen
    • Another one from my colleague. She had magnets of all the presents ready and laminated wrapping paper to put over them. It was like a big reveal. I even used a “Wibbly” pig puppet.
  • Song w/ Shakers – Can’t Stop the Feeling! Trolls Soundtrack I passed out shakers and we danced our fanny’s off to this song. Not a normal storytime song BUT we loved it and so did the adults.81acafb99pl-_sx425_

Finally, I always end with the same three things:

  • Movement Exercise – If You’re Happy and You Know It
    • I tell the kids that I want to know how happy they are.
  • Rhyme – Say Goodbye
    • This is the same rhyme we started with, so the new guys are familiar with it by the end of storytime.
  • Song – Goodbye, So Long, Farewell my Friends by Music Together
    • I always put this one on as I go to open the door. Its a nice, slow, peaceful song to wind down on.

How’d it go: Now that we are reaching our summer months, we have to do our storytimes in a little bit smaller of a room. So we can get a little crowded with our 75-100+ people. I was totally prepared to put up a “we’re full” sign but fortunately, our crowd was about the top of what I could handle in this room.

Overall, it went really well. Everyone wished me a happy birthday and I even successfully used my puppets, which can be dicey depending on the day. I was super thankful to have my colleagues help with getting this one ready. We’ve been busy scheduling and doing summer reading visits that I kind of had to throw this one together at the last moment. But teamwork prevailed and we made it through!

That’s all for now!

-M-

Author: MarandaLee

Children's Librarian. Connoisseur of all things bookish.

Leave a Reply

