Time for Two’s: Camping

Time for Two’s can be a rambunctious storytime. I was prepared this time with lots and lots of wiggle songs!

Here’s what we did:

I always start with the same warm ups:

  • Song – Top of the Morning
    • This is a good song to warm up with because we stretch all the parts we will be using in storytime. Eyes, arms, legs, mouth, nose.
  • ASL – Hello FriendsI like to use sign language in my story time. We go over the signs for: Hello, Friends, Time and Say. Thanks to Jbrary for this one!
  • Movement Exercise – Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes51r454qvsal-_sy440_bo1204203200_
    • We do this three times, faster and FASTER each time.
  • Song – SkidamarinkIt’s a classic, I know you all know it!

Then I get into my theme. This time we did all things camping!

  • Story – We’re Going on a Bear Hunt by Micheal Rosen
    • This one is great for repetition. The kids almost know the words before you reach the end. You can throw in some movements too, which helps because it is a little long.
  • 20170315_081042Song – Do Your Ears Hang Low
    • We love to sing around the campfire right? First we practiced the words using a flip chart and then I put on the song for us to dance to.
  • Flannel – Five Little KernelsThis is just a simple flannel that you can work on counting with. It is also fun to go POP! and pop goes the kernel.
  • Rhyme – Twinkle Twinkle Little Star
    • This is a classic. I asked the kids if they ever look up at the stars when they go camping and then we do you simple movements to the rhyme. Repeat twice.
  • Song – The Ants Go Marching
    • I used Freegal to download a decently paced version of this song. We only let it play to 5 ants marching.
  • Story – Scare a Bear by Kathy-jo Wargin51tkyenhdcl-_sx487_bo1204203200_
    • Our library didn’t have a copy of this one so I had to get it from ILL. But it was a great one because the rhyme was fun and at the end I pulled out my bear puppet and all the kids got a chance to scare him!
  • Song w/ Shakers – Chug-a-lug-a Choo Choo
    • We just shake our shakers and dance. By this point in storytime we just need to dance!

Finally, I always end with the same three things:

  • Movement Exercise – If You’re Happy and You Know It
    • I tell the kids that I want to know how happy they are.
  • Rhyme – Say Goodbye
    • This is the same rhyme we started with, so the new guys are familiar with it by the end of storytime.
  • Song – Goodbye, So Long, Farewell my Friends by Music Together
    • I always put this one on as I go to open the door. Its a nice, slow, peaceful song to wind down on.

How’d it go:

Overall, things went pretty well this time. We did just enough to keep us happy and not too much to get all fidgety. I was glad I had all my songs prepared because this is a loud group, so anytime I don’t have to sing/shout over the kids, I’m happy. I do need to find another version of Do your hears hang low; the song was a little too fast for us, so we mostly just swayed to the music.

That’s all for now!

-M-

Author: MarandaLee

Children's Librarian. Connoisseur of all things bookish.

Leave a Reply

