Give Thanks & Be Happy

Hi Guys,

Yesterday, I put up a new display in the children’s room of our library. In November we try 516dsrpefdl-_sx375_bo1204203200_to do an interactive display. Something revolving around being thankful and/or what we are thankful for. Last year I put up a giant turkey and the kids wrote on baby turkeys what they were thankful for. We hung everyone’s turkeys up for the month of November.

This year I wanted to do something other then a Thanksgiving theme, but something
that would still portray the theme of thankfulness. I had an idea to do something with Shel Silverstein’s The Giving Tree20161101_104519

So I figured I would incorporate fall colors in the leaves and in place of the title and author I wrote: Give Thanks & Be Happy.
The only leaves I could find for our accucut were kind of tiny, so the kids will only be able to write their names this 20161101_104505year. But they can tell us (the librarians) what they are thankful for. We have a little basket with pencils and different color leaves the kids can pick out.

I gotta say, I really love this one and it wasn’t all that hard. I am super proud of my boy–I free-handed that sucker!

Overall, this was a really simple display that gives quite a pop of color to the J-room. It is interactive, which the kids love and the Silverstein books will get a boost of circulation because of it.

20161101_104713

 

So fun!

That’s all for now!

-M-

Author: MarandaLee

Children's Librarian. Connoisseur of all things bookish.

Leave a Reply

